Jonathan Pelto Ducks a Question on Racial Justice

Gubernatorial candidate Jonathan Pelto and his running mate Ebony Murphy both ducked Community Party member Mary Sanders’ question about racial justice issues during a candidate forum on Monday. Watch for yourself at the 1:26:21 mark of the Connecticut Network video… http://ct-n.com/ctnplayer.asp?odID=10441

14 Responses to “Jonathan Pelto Ducks a Question on Racial Justice”

  1. Ebony Murphy-Root Says:

    Hi David. At least you’re not calling me a ‘token’ this week, so that’s something to pleased about this Fourth of July. Is being a ‘token’ the flipside of being ‘uppity?’ How dare I, some teacher from Laurel St, ponder running for public office?

    I deal with issues of racial justice on a personal level daily with two brothers ages 19 and 25 who are both in that ‘targeted for incarceration’ demographic. I worry about them every time they get behind the wheel of their cars. I have had my own experiences being pulled over and ‘accused’ of stealing my own car most recently as August 10, 2013, in Manchester. I also happen to be a black person myself, and have been for almost 32 years, though you may not have noticed because I happen to be a WOMAN at the same time as being black, so even I ‘wanted’ to dodge issues of racial justice, racism, and sexism, which I don’t, I could not.

    You know what’s funny is my entire adulthood, and before then, too, I have been ‘accused’ of talking too much about race and then simultaneously ‘accused’ of being a ‘token’ or not being black enough. These are experiences I am sure you can relate to, David. Obviously, I care about the profound economic disparities in our cities and in our state at large, and the issues such as mass incarceration and access to education and training, that intersect with racism and poverty. The reason I became a teacher all those years ago at a GED program for pregnant and parenting teens is because I see clearly how all these issues come to together to affect the lived experience of young people and their families and communities. So ‘ducking?’ Nope, here I am.

  2. Chris Senecal Says:

    I was at that event and this was a very complex and multi-faceted question that occurred at the very end of the evening with time running short- if you have read any of the writings of Jonathan Pelto or Ebony Murphy you would know that they are champions of racial justice issues and to suggest otherwise based on this one particular example is disingenuous.

  3. David Samuels Says:

    Ebony and Pelto’s sycophants clearly have their orders to start spinning. Note that Pelto himself hasn’t responded to my comments about him welshing on his promise to me to include an urban agenda in his platform. I guess Pelto is too busy handing out his petition to Republicans. I will post the conversation between Jonathan and I on this blog. As for the rest of the yapping from Pelto’s camp, all I will say is that a video is worth a thousand words.

  4. David Samuels Says:

    The text of my Facebook message exchanges with Pelto is now online.

  5. Ebony Murphy-Root Says:

    Thank you for posting the message exchanges, David.

  6. BlackWomaninCT Says:

    And as someone as vociferous as you are, how ironic that you’re moderating comments. Pure comedy.

  7. David Samuels Says:

    What’s really funny is how you’re talking out of your ass. I said that Perry is a workplace bully who is being used by Wall Street to attack public employees; state / municipal employers are the biggest employers of Black people. The whites who you’re defending refuse to talk about Wall Street’s racist agenda against Black people. So what does that make you?

  8. David Samuels Says:

    These whites can always find a house nigger to speak for them…

  9. David Samuels Says:

    That’s what I thought… This is an example of a tool being unable to hang in a fact based conversation. If Blacks like Steve Perry and BlackWomaninCT (if indeed the poster really is a Black woman) would stop acting as stooges for white people, our race would be much better off.

  10. David Samuels Says:

    Looks like BlackWomaninCT just “moderated” herself; she took down her other comment. Ha…

  11. BlackWomaninCT Says:

    I actually didn’t take down my comment and had no reason to because I meant and stand by what I said, but nice try. If anybody’s a ‘house nigger’ it’s you, with all the hot air you’re spewing and your insistence on playing gatekeeper to blackness. But keep ranting. You still didn’t throw in your bid to run for governor. You’re too content trying to smear a proactive black woman.

  12. David Samuels Says:

    Everyone should note that this wacko Aunt Jemima hasn’t answered my question, which is why she is defending whites who would rather focus on one Black stooge (Perry), than talk about how Perry is being used as a tool by Wall Street to put Black people out of work. There’s no way I would have removed the comment, because it proved my point. Keep talking, though…

  13. David Samuels Says:

    Let’s see if Auntie will answer this question. If the Board of Education gave Stepin Fetchit Perry a pink slip today, does she honestly think that the attacks on public schools and teachers will stop? Let’s see if she has the guts to answer…

  14. David Samuels Says:

    One more question for Auntie; how does she feel about the fact that Jonathan Pelto’s campaign platform does not include an urban agenda?

Leave a Reply

